The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm

TOFaFTotBGbyBG.png

Here’s another edition review instead of book review. I’ve been busy as the school semester comes to a close, and I haven’t had a lot of time for reading. Also, I am in a bit of reading slump. I read some fantastic books recently, and now everything I pick up feels bland in comparison. Anyone else had this problem? Well, I guess it isn’t the worst problem to have.

So, what’s so great about this edition of Grimm’s Tales? There are only a billion other (prettier) editions, so why this one? Well, the answer is in the title. Apparently, the versions of the tales in this edition are as close to the originals as possible. And, as you probably already know, these tales aren’t even close to the sanitized Disney versions we all know and love. These tales are often brutal and bloody. There is a fair amount of trickery and backstabbing, and there isn’t always a happy ending or helpful moral lesson at the end. It is interesting to see where Disney got their inspiration and to see how these stories have evolved over time. This edition also has some creepy illustrations (in the same style as the cover illustrations) that look 3D.

As with many of these kinds of collections, I would not recommend reading it cover to cover, but it is nice to read a few tales here and there. It also looks pretty good on my fairy tale shelf.

 

Leave a comment